Empowering Local Businesses
Home city guide kanpur central railway station

Kanpur Central Railway Station

Kanpur Central Railway Station was built in 1928. It is the busiest station of North Central Railways. It is quite similar to Delhi railways and holds the record for having the largest route interlocking system in the entire world. Not only this, it has phenomenal 48 rail crossings at its 'diamond crossing'. Located on Howrah-Delhi broad gauge route, Kanpur Central Railway Station is one of the four Central Railway Stations. Known for most of the traffic jams with 280 trains passing through this station, this Railway Station handles the traffic of more than 1,50,000 passengers. With lakhs of passengers every day, Kanpur station is rated in top hundred booking stations of Indian Railways. Its elevation is 126.63 meters (415.5 ft). Kanpur Central Railway Station is in Cantonment area and is connected with New Delhi, Lucknow, Howrah, Agra, Jhansi among many others. Shatabdi, Rajdhani have stoppage here. The Central Railway Station boasts of halting nine pairs of Rajdhani trains.

Routes from Kanpur Central

Though the structure of this station is standard, it was inspired by a railway station called Charbagh NR in Lucknow that was built in1914 by British. Kanpur Central has secured a place in 50 world class Railway stations by Mamata Banerjee in her Railway Budget Session.

Hence, Kanpur Railways started getting revamp, but in phases, though the work is still in progress and NCR officials are trying to keep their word by completing the project in the near future. The Delhi foot-over bridge and Howrah foot-over bridge are there for the passenger's convenience. There is one underpass route connecting all the platforms.

Proposed Facilities at Kanpur Central Railway Station

For the convenience of the senior and disabled passengers railways is planning to install two escalators. Another interesting proposal is to build an underground parking which will be first of its kind in any railway station that will ensure smooth flow of traffic and occupancy of space outside the station. Passengers can register their complaints related to various things such as unavailability of drinking water, etc. at the grievance cell established at the station. Existing dormitories and retiring room require maintenance and that shall be taken care during the next phase.

As Kanpur Central is getting its major remodel done, keeping in view of the beautification project, the token system has been introduced by railway authorities for passengers help so that they escape a wait of long hours in the queues.

The passengers at Kanpur Central railway station will be able to relish different cuisines at the food plaza to come up on the platform number one. The place for setting up the plaza had been earmarked.

To book the tickets the station code is station Code: CNB (Cawnpore Barrack) Division: Northern Central Railway.

Covered Divisions

  1. Northern Railway
  2. Northern Central Railway
  3. Northern Eastern Railway

Routes from Kanpur Central

  • Kanpur - Govindpuri - Tundla - Agra
  • Kanpur - Etawah - Tundla - Aligarh - New Delhi
  • Kanpur - Chakeri - Allahabad - Howrah
  • Kanpur - Gangaghat - Unnao - Lucknow
  • Kanpur - Unnao - Dalmau - Raebareli - Unchahar - Allahabad
  • Kanpur - Gangaghat - Unnao - Balamau - Sitapur - Shahjehanpur
  • Kanpur - Govindpuri - Bhimsen - Jhansi
  • Kanpur - Govindpuri - Bhimsen - Banda
  • Kanpur - Anwarganj - Farrukhabad - Kasganj
  • Kanpur - Panki - Mandhana

Important trains passing from Kanpur

Train No. 12003 Lucknow Swarna Shatabdi
Arrival: 16:45
Departure: 16:50
Daily; Platform No. 1

Train No. 12004 Lucknow Swarna Shatabdi
Arrival: 11:20
Departure: 11:25; Daily

Train No. 2559 Shiv Ganga Express
Arrival: 01:10
Departure: 01:15; Daily

Train No. 2560 Shiv Ganga Express
Arrival: 00:50
Departure: 00:55; Daily

Train No. 4853/63/65 Marudhar Express
Arrival: 01:55
Departure: 02:00; Daily

Train No. 4854/64/66 Marudhar Express
Arrival: 01:20
Departure: 01:25; Daily

Train No. 2179 Lucknow-Agra Intercity
Arrival: 17:25
Departure: 17:30; Daily

Train No. 2180 Agra-Lucknow Intercity
Arrival: 05
Departure: 10:10; Daily

Train No. 2183 Bhopal – Lucknow Express
Arrival: 04:00
Departure: 04:05; Tuesday Fri

Train No. 2184 Lucknow - Bhopal Express
Arrival: 00:12
Departure: 00:20; Thurs,Sun

Train No. 2193 Bhopal - Pratapgarh Express

Arrival: 04:00
Departure: 04:05; Only Sunday

Train No. 2194 Pratapgarh-Bhopal
Arrival: 00:12
Departure: 00:20; Only Tuesday

Train No. 2417 Prayagraj Express
Arrival: 00:05
Departure: 00:15; Daily

Train No. 2418 Prayagraj Express
Arrival: 03:25
Departure: 03:30; Daily

Train No. 2419 Gomti Express
Arrival: 06:55
Departure: 07:00; Daily

Train No. 2420 Gomti Express
Arrival: 19:45
Departure: 19:55; Daily

Train No. 2511 RaptiSagar Express
Arrival: 13:17
Departure: 13:22; Thurs, Fri,Sun

Train No. 2521 Rapti Sagar Express
Arrival: 13:17
Departure: 13:22; Only Tues

Train No. 15025 Mau - AnandVihar Terminal Express
Arrival: 04:15
Departure: 04:20

Train No. 15026 AnandVihar Terminal - Mau Express
Arrival: 07:05
Departure: 07:15

Train No. 2541 Gorakhpur-LTT SF Express
Arrival: 05:25
Departure: 05:35; Daily

Train No. 2542 LTT-Gorakhpur SF Express

Arrival: 09:45
Departure: 09:55; Daily

Train No. 12533 LJN-CSTM Pushpak Express
Arrival: 21:20
Departure: 21:32; Daily

Train No. 12534 CSTM-LJN Pushpak Express
Arrival: 06:45
Departure: 07:00
Daily Platform No. 9

Now they are planning to start route from Kanpur Central to Mumbai Chatrapathi Shivaji terminal.

Explore more about Transport in Kanpur

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries